What division it has?

Wiki says:

Republic of Indonesia is divided into provinces (Indonesian: Provinsi). Provinces are made up of regencies (Indonesian: Kabupaten) and cities(Indonesian: Kota). 

-Thus by 2012, there are 33 provinces which is divided into 405 regencies and 97 cities

Province, regencies, and cities, have their own local governments and parliamentary bodies. Since 2005, heads of local government (governors, regents, and mayors) have been directly elected by popular election.

33 Provinces of Indonesia

province (Indonesian: Provinsi) is headed by a governor. Each province has its own legislative body, called Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat Daerah (literally means “Regional People’s Representatives Assembly”). Governors and representative members are elected by popular vote for 5-year term.

– And because we’re crazy for making abbreviation, we’d simply call them the shortest we can, for example: Pilkada or Pilgub-cawagub or Pemilukada are all means the same : it’s governor’s election. (Pilkada : Pemilihan Kepala Daerah; Pilgub-cawagub : Pemilihan Gubernur-calon wakil gubernur; and Pemilukada : Pemilihan Umum Kepala Daerah).

The provinces are usually grouped according to its geographic location, thus :

1. Sumatera Island (10 provinces) click here

2. Java Island (6 provinces) click here

3. Nusa Tenggara/Lesser Sunda (3 provinces) click here

4. Kalimantan/Borneo (4 provinces) click here

5. Sulawesi (6 provinces) click here

6. Maluku/Moluccas (2 provinces) click here

7. Papua/Irian/New Guinea (2 provinces) click here

Each province is eventually subdivided into Regencies and Cities…which are:

Regency (Indonesian: Kabupaten) and City(Indonesian: Kota) is a local level of government beneath that of province, however they enjoy greater decentralization affairs than province does, such as provide public schools and public health facilities.

Both regency and city are the same level, having their own local government and legislative body. The difference between a Regency and a City lies in differing demographics, size and economics. Generally the regency has larger area than city, and city has a non-agricultural economic activities. A regency is headed by a regent (Indonesian: Bupati), and a city is headed by a mayor (Indonesian: Walikota). Regent or mayor and member of representatives are elected by popular vote for a term of 5 years.

As of 2012, there are 405 regency and 97 cities (just in case you want to know more about these regencies and cities, you can click in the province where the regency or city belong to).

– Somehow, a regency would always have a capital (which is of course ‘a city’) and when that city is getting bigger and more urban -thus needs its own autonomy- usually they would go seperate way, the city becomes independent and the regency would move its capital to other place inside its area.

– For example, Agam regency (West Sumatera Province) has its capital in Bukittinggi City, but when the city is getting more sub urban, it will gained an ‘administrative city’ status, As time goes by, when ready, the city will finally became fully independent. Thus the capital of Agam regency would be considered uneffectively if stay at the same seat with an independent city. Finally the capital of the regency is officially moved to another location: Lubuk Basung City.

– For some time, Medan City became the seat of three administrative units: Capital of North Sumatera province, Capital of Deli Serdang regency as well as seat of its own autonomous status. Now  its burden is less, when Deli Serdang regency move its capital to brand new city: Lubuk Pakam.

– Sometimes, a regency has the same name with a city. Mostly, it is because the city used to be its seat before gaining independent. For example :

*Bekasi City and Bekasi Regency (West Java) – the capital now is in Cikarang

*Pontianak City and Pontianak Regency (West Kalimantan) – the capital now is in Mempawah.


One thought on “What division it has?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s