Sulawesi Provinces

Wiki says

Sulawesi (formerly known as Celebes) is one of the four largerSunda Islands of Indonesia and the world’s eleventh-largest island. Covering an area of 174,600 km2 (67,413 sq mi). The island is surrounded by Borneo to the west, by the Philippines to the north, by Maluku to the east, and by Flores and Timor to the south In Indonesia, only SumatraBorneo, and Papua are larger in territory, and only Java and Sumatra have larger Indonesian populations.

Sulawesi has a distinctive shape, dominated by four large narrow peninsulas: the northSemenanjung Minahassa; the East Peninsula; the South Peninsula; and the South-east Peninsula. Three gulfs separate these peninsulas: Gulf of Tomini between northern Minahassa peninsula and East Peninsula; Tolo Gulf between East and Southeast Peninsula; and Bone Gulf between while South and Southeast Peninsula. The Strait of Makassar runs along the western side of the island and separates the island from Borneo.

Administrative divisions: The Island used to be of 4 provinces (North, Central, Southeast & South Sulawesi) until the birth of two more provinces: Gorontalo & West Sulawesi (a splitted-off of North Sulawesi & South Sulawesi). The island subdivised into 62 regencies and 11 cities

The Provinces on Sulawesi :

1. North Sulawesi / Sulawesi Utara (capital: Manado)

2. Central Sulawesi / Sulawesi Tengah (capital: Palu)

3. Southeast Sulawesi / Sulawesi Tenggara (capital: Kendari )

4. South Sulawesi / Sulawesi Selatan (capital: Makassar)

5. Gorontalo (capital: Gorontalo city)

6. West Sulawesi / Sulawesi Barat (capital: Mamuju)

The Provinces’ seals:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s